First Post is the best post

Who I am and why I started writing:

Welcome to KidneyTransplantPatient.com.

My name is Greg and I’ll be your author/consultant/confidante to help answer your questions about kidney transplantation.  As a multiple transplantee myself, I have been through pain, discomfort, tears, joys, and celebration of waiting and receiving a kidney.  I hope that I can share with you my journey through life so that you too can learn from my experiences to make your life easier.  I am a son, a husband, a brother, a writer, a programmer, and a stock trader, but by no means am I a medical professional.  Please keep this in mind and consult with a physician and use your own best judgement before deciding on making any major changes that’ll affect your health and well being.

I created this site to help educate patients and their family members about kidney/renal disease, treatment options, and the latest research developments.  I have been blessed with a loving family who has supported me through the three kidney transplantations that I have gone through and shown me how important a good support system is for a successful rehabilitation process.  This is why I created this website so that I can share with you the experiences of my life in hopes that you too can use this in your own journey through this sometime difficult yet educational process.

As I continue my blog, I will share with you the experiences of each different types of transplant options, its pros and cons and hope that you can garner some useful information and apply it in your own life and so that it can make it easier for you and your loved ones as you conquer and manage this devastating disease..

Some information that I’ll be sharing on this website:

  • Dialysis options
  • Transplant options
  • Latest report, research, and statistics related to kidney transplants
  • Diet and exercise for post and pre transplant patients
  • Common transplant meds its info (formulary)
  • Insurance (private, Medicare, and Medicaid)
  • Family life
  • School life
  • and other misc info related to kidney health